Rhubarb 2019

2 ST EDWARD’S r h u b a r b

President’s Report Charles Cooper (G, 1961-1966)

The School Society came into being in the summer of 1892 when 13 rules were published in the Chronicle , one being that the President should be ex officio the Warden. This held true until 1922 when a series of changes were made, including the broadening of the nominations for President to notable OSE, usually agreed by their fellows in a vote or by wider canvassing for opinion. Thus, since 1922, the list of Presidents has made impressive reading with 20 decorated (both civil and wartime) personalities such as Douglas Bader, Noel Hudson, Michael Sandberg, Ivor Lucas and John Moreton. The roll also includes the first OSE with a Double First at Oxford - Francis Wylie, the first OSE to win an international sporting cap There is something for everyone on the events card. Do have a close look to see what might suit you. To encourage younger OSE to participate, we have increased subsidies at events, regional as well as at the School, and this has proved successful. Over half the attendees at the recent Annual Dinner were under 30 which is very encouraging. If you think of organising any sort of get- together, let us know as we may be able to help. The OSE office in the Lodge is the first point of contact. In other areas of interest, the Society has committed to funding a triptych for the Chapel altar. This is a commission for former Head of Teddies Art, Peter Lloyd- Jones. We also look forward to providing a water fountain in the Quad in the area in front of the new academic centre and library development.

Last Autumn we said goodbye to Rebecca Ting from the Development Office, and earlier this year to Jenny McCarter from the OSE office. Rebecca had been with Teddies for over 10 years and had been a pleasure to work with. Jenny set up our involvement with the Blenheim Triathlon, and worked to make our new merchandise available. You can see the very smart cuff links and other new rhubarb merchandise available through the school website in this magazine. We miss Rebecca and Jenny, and wish them well. I wish to say a big thank you to Emma Grounds who holds the OSE office together and to the Society Hon Sec, the seemingly tireless John Wiggins, for the energy he puts into our programme. Thank you also to David Smart, our Vice President, for stepping forward to assist in the running of the Society.


Charles Cooper

It is an honour for me to be President of the St Edward’s School Society. I follow in the steps of Mike Palau whose commitment to, and enthusiasm for, the Society and School were admirable. We are very grateful and pay tribute to him. The role of the Society is extensive. Firstly, it funds the publication of our magazine r h u b a r b and the OSE and Martyrs events card. (These are available in hard copy, and, for those who don’t do paper, online.) The Society also encourages events. If you would like to drink and dine with OSE friends, you can do it in Cornwall, the Midlands, Cardiff, Liverpool, or even Sydney, Australia. There are Martyrs sports events for men and for women: hockey, golf, cricket, mixed netball, and triathlon. On 2nd June about 40 competitors participated for us at the Blenheim Triathlon; members of the Society and Martyrs were present to provide encouragement and support. There is also the Martyrs Boat Club. Recognising the value of the Martyrs through all these sports the Society Committee has made guarantees for Martyrs funding and improving access for OSE to the events. All pupils now have automatic membership of the Martyrs. Other events include the Gaudy concert in July, and the OSE Carol Service on 1st December. Tilly’s had a House reunion and welcomed back over 100 OSE.

The Position of President of the School Society as Sir George Mallaby, David Wippell and, of course, the early Wardens. In 2014 Georgie Dennis (née Pelham) was the first female OSE to be appointed, her father having also been President. The present incumbent Charles Cooper also followed in his father Graham’s footsteps.

Most Presidents have served for one year only and each in their own way has brought something different to the task. The fact that the position has been filled for so long and by so many eminent otherwise-busy people, demonstrates the importance of the role both to the individual, the School and, perhaps more importantly, to the OSE community who can no longer visit Oxford very often but feel nonetheless they are represented.

- Hugh Ingledew, and the first OSE to win an Oxford Rowing Blue - Percy Underhill. Two Henderson brothers, Terence and Derek, were both in the post, as well as a handful of non-OSE such

John Wylie 1937

Douglas Bader 1962

John Moreton 1980

Made with FlippingBook flipbook maker